Hans-Jürgen Becker

Die neue Kölner Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät von 1919 bis 1950

[The New Cologne Faculty of Law from 1919 to 1950.]

59,00 €
including VAT
eBook PDF
ISBN 978-3-16-160197-2
Also Available As:
Published in German.
The history of the Cologne faculty offers, on the one hand, an insight into the development of jurisprudence in the first half of the 20th century, and, on the other hand, a history of science embedded in the political development with the incisions of 1918, 1933 and 1945. A much noted episode is the meeting of Hans Kelsen and Carl Schmitt in 1932/33.
In 1919 Konrad Adenauer succeeded in establishing a second university to sit alongside Bonn in Prussian Rhineland. In a short space of time and thanks to its founding members – F. Stier-Somlo, H. Lehmann, H. Planitz, G. J. Ebers, A. von Tuhr, A. Baumgarten, and G. Bohne – Cologne University's Faculty of Law developed into an eminent institution. However, when six of its members (G. J. Ebers, H. W. Goldschmidt, F. Haymann, H. Kelsen, L. Waldecker, and L. Wieruszowski) were forced to resign during the National Socialist regime, closure threatened. The faculty's fortunes were revived after 1945 by scholars such as H. C. Nipperdey (Labour Law), H. Jahrreiß (Constitutional and International Law), G. Kegel (International Private Law) and B. Rehfeld (History of Law), who renewed and expanded the range of disciplines. Federal Presidents Gustav Heinemann and Karl Carstens were among later faculty members.

Hans-Jürgen Becker Geboren 1939; Studium der Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Frankfurt am Main; 1967 Promotion; 1969 Zweite Juristische Staatsprüfung; 1972 Habilitation (Frankfurt am Main); 1975 o. Professor an der Universität zu Köln; Gastaufenthalte in Rom (Deutsches Historisches Institut) und in Berkeley, University of California (Institute of Medieval Canon Law); ab 1988 Professor für Bürgerliches Recht, Europäische Rechtsgeschichte und Kirchenrecht an der Universität Regensburg; 1992–94 Dekan der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Regensburg; 1994–98 und 2003–05 Prorektor ebenda; seit 2008 Emeritus.


We have not yet received any reviews of this work.