Hans Kelsen Werke 978-3-16-150665-9 - Mohr Siebeck

Hans Kelsen

Hans Kelsen Werke

Band 8: Veröffentlichte Schriften 1922
Hrsg. v. Matthias Jestaedt in Koop. m. d. Hans Kelsen-Institut

[Volume 8: Publications from 1922.]

2020. Approx. 660 pages.
forthcoming in September
approx. 160,00 €
including VAT
cloth - unit price
ISBN 978-3-16-150665-9
Published in German.
Volume 8 of HKW contains a commentary of Austria's first definite republican constitution of 1920, co-authored by Hans Kelsen, Georg Froehlich and Adolf J. Merkl. It is still highly regarded and used by constitutional lawyers today, having been authored by three men who were actively involved in the drafting process.
Volume 8 of Hans Kelsen Werke contains the first legal commentary of the Austrian Federal Constitution of 1920, co-authored by Hans Kelsen (1881–1973), Georg Froehlich (1872–1939) and Adolf Julius Merkl (1890–1970), and published in 1922. It is a locus classicus and standard literature on the Bundes-Verfassungsgesetz 1920 that is still used by constitutional lawyers today. All three authors were important expert participants in the constitution's drafting and had intimate knowledge of the text, its genesis and subject matter. This commentary is also the fifth part of Kelsen's series of commentaries on the new Austrian republican constitutional order. Together with parts one to four (contained in Volume 5 of HKW), which concerned the 1918–1920 transitional constitutional arrangements, and his judgeship in Austria's constitutional court, it cemented Kelsen's standing as Austria's leading scholar of constitutional law.

Hans Kelsen (1881–1973) 1919–30 Universitätsprofessor in Wien; 1919–1930 Verfassungsrichter; 1930–33 Professor in Köln; 1933–40 Professor in Genf; 1936–38 Professor in Prag; 1945–52 Professor in Berkeley.

Matthias Jestaedt ist Professor für Öffentliches Recht und Rechtstheorie an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg.

Hans Kelsen-Institut No current data available.


We have not yet received any reviews of this work.