Heinrich Amadeus Wolff

Die Reform der Professorenbesoldung – eine Zwischenbilanz

Rubrik: Abhandlungen
Wissenschaftsrecht (WissR)

Jahrgang 46 () / Heft 2, S. 126-150 (25)

25,00 € inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Artikel PDF
In February 2012, the Federal Constitutional Court demanded that new regulations concerning the salaries of level W 2 professors in the State of Hesse should be made before the end of the year. Within the time limit that was set, the State of Hesse succeeded in putting forward new regulations that not only meet the minimum conditions but also grasp the essential reasoning of the court's decision. The professors' salaries which are based on the 2001 reform are unable to adequately pay the »normal« professor who has not been successful in attaining significant bonuses. The State of Hesse takes a middle course between turning back the wheel completely and maintaining a system which has been declared unconstitutional. The reintroduction of narrowly formulated experience levels is legally possible and objectively reasonable. The crediting of the rise in salary against benefits already granted is not ruled out altogether. Bonuses that have been granted based on a qualified procedure in order to recognize performance may not be completely leveled. The capping of the maximum limit to 50 % still ensures this adequately. However, because the new system contains strong elements of the old system it must be assumed that there is a procedural obligation to examine old bonuses that have been shortened upon application and to increase them again where appropriate.

Heinrich Amadeus Wolff Geboren 1965; 1985–90 Studium der Rechtswissenschaften in Regensburg, Tübingen, Bonn, Freiburg und Heidelberg; 1990–93 Wiss. Mitarbeiter in Heidelberg; 1994 zweite jurist. Staatsprüfung; 1994 Wiss. Mitarbeiter beim Bundesverfassungsgericht in Karlsruhe und an der Deutschen Hochschule für Verwaltungswissenschaften in Speyer; 1995–99 wiss. Assistent in Speyer; 1996 Promotion; seit 1996 Lehrbeauftragter in Speyer; 1998 Habilitation; seit 1999 Oberregierungsrat im Bundesministerium des Innern.